If you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI / DWI) in New Jersey, it is crucial to know about your rights. The next steps you take can have a lasting impact on your life and freedom.
What is DUI?
What does it mean to be driving under the influence? Let’s look at the science first. New Jersey measures your blood alcohol content to determine if you are legally considered “under the influence”. If you have a blood alcohol content (called a “BAC”) greater than .08, while operating a motor vehicle, you are breaking the law. Law enforcement officers generally test your BAC by asking that you submit to the AlchoTest machine. The officers may also direct you to take additional sobriety tests at the scene of the traffic stop. These include eye tests, walking a straight line, touching your finger to your nose and tracking your eye movements with light.
What Am I Facing?
There are different levels of punishment for DUI in New Jersey. Generally, punishment can include jail time, fines and fees, loss of driver’s license, community service and having an interlock device installed in your vehicle.
More specifically, in New Jersey if your blood alcohol content is over .08 but under .10, and it is your first offense, you could lose your license for 3 months, pay fines, spend some time in jail and be required to use the interlock device on your car.
If your BAC is higher than .10, the punishment stiffens. you could lose your license for 7-10 months, pay fines up to $1,000, spend up to 30 days or more in jail and be required to use the interlock device on your car. A second offense carries a mandatory two year loss of license, plus jail time. A third offense include a mandatory 6 month period of incarceration, 90 days of which can be served in an inpatient facility.
DUI is a very serious offense in New Jersey that can carry a stiff penalty. The best thing you can do is hire an experienced attorney to defend your rights. The Law Office of Jordan B. Rickards can provide you with the aggressive defense you need.
As in all criminal cases, you are innocent until proven guilty by the state. You have a right to confront the witnesses against you. This can often mean attacking the legitimacy of the traffic stop, the observations made, as well as the blood or breath tests. This is not an easy task, and it requires skill and precision.
Contact a NJ DUI Lawyer
Never lose hope. In difficult circumstances, The Law Office of Jordan B. Rickards is here to help guide you along the path to the best result possible. Timing in these cases is crucial. If you have been arrested or charged with DUI in New Jersey, contact Attorney Jordan B. Rickards right away, at 732-297-8200.